Gov. Gavin Newsom announced on Nov. 5, 2026, that he plans to change all California death sentences to life without parole. The announcement, published by the governor’s office at gov.ca.gov, describes a plan. It does not say how the change would be made or when it would take effect.
The announcement does not name the legal mechanism for the change. It also does not say which state agency would carry it out, or how many people would be affected. Inference: because the mechanism is not stated, the timing and process for each case cannot be confirmed from the announcement.
Media reports have cited different totals for the people on California’s death row. None of those totals is confirmed by the announcement, so this article does not repeat them. The governor’s open letter on the plan is a PDF that this article could not read, so nothing here relies on it.
What the Announcement Does and Does Not Say
The announcement describes a plan, not a completed change. Nothing in it confirms that any individual sentence has been changed. Inference: a change covering every death sentence may require separate processing for each case, but the announcement does not say so.
Several questions remain open. The announcement does not describe the legal process, the role of any state agency, the day-to-day effect on people on death row, or a start date. Readers should not assume any of these until official orders or guidance are published.
Common Questions About the Announcement
What does the governor plan to do? Change every California death sentence to life without parole, according to the governor’s announcement of Nov. 5, 2026.
How many people would be affected? This article does not give a count. The announcement does not state one, and the media figures have not been confirmed by a primary source.
When would the changes happen? The announcement does not give a date. It does not say when the first change would take effect, nor how long the process would take.
Can a future governor reverse the changes? The announcement does not address this. Once an individual sentence is officially changed, the legal effect of that order would depend on the mechanism used, which the announcement does not specify.
Where can I read the official announcement? The governor’s office published it at gov.ca.gov on Nov. 5, 2026. The associated open letter is a PDF that this article could not read.