Indian Cricket Players, Photo Credits: Indian Cricket Team

Kshaunish Sengupta

India’s Young Guns Face Zimbabwe: 5 T20 Clashes Kick Off Post-Rohit/Kohli Era

Cricket Series 2024, India Zimbabwe T20, International Cricket, Post-Kohli Era, T20 Cricket

After ending the 11-year ICC trophy drought with a historic win over South Africa in the T20 World Cup final, the focus now shifts towards Zimbabwe where our young brigade will take on the challenges. The team will play 5 T20s against Zimbabwe in Zimbabwe. The first T20 will be played on July 6th at Harare, and the final T20 will be on July 14th at the same venue.

This marks the beginning of the post-Rohit-Kohli era in T20s. Due to the heavy workload, senior players have been rested for this tour of Zimbabwe. Shubman Gill is leading the team, and VVS Laxman has been appointed as the coach for this particular tour. 

The likes of Abhishek Sharma and Riyan Parag have been selected for the first time for Team India. Both of them have been impressive in the IPL for their respective franchises. Shubman Gill had a mixed season so far; after a brilliant IPL 2023, his form dipped in 2024, and after missing out on the 2023 T20 World Cup squad, he will have a point to prove. 

Similar Posts

Rinku Singh will be looking to cement his place at number 5 for T20s. India’s bowling will be dependent on Khaleel Ahmed, who is making a comeback to the national side after a terrific IPL 2024, along with Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, and Mukesh Kumar. On the other hand, Zimbabwe will be gutted after missing out on the T20 WC 2024. They will be looking for a fresh opportunity to make a mark against a young spirited Indian side.

Sports Network will broadcast the matches on TV at 14:30 pm IST. The series will also be telecast on Sony Sports Ten 5 SD and HD, Sony Sports Ten 3 Hindi SD and HD, Sony Sports Ten 4 Tamil or Telugu. The live streaming of the T20 series in India will be available on the Sony Liv app and website.

Leave a Comment